top of page


original score by Christopher Gubisch

The birds they sang

At the break of day

Start again

I heard them say

Don't dwell on what

Has passed away

Or what is yet to be

Yeah the wars they will

Be fought again

The holy dove

She will be caught again

Bought and sold

And bought again

The dove is never free

Ring the bells (ring the bells) that still can ring

Forget your perfect offering

There is a crack in everything (there is a crack in everything)

That's how the light gets in

We asked for signs

The signs were sent

The birth betrayed

The marriage spent

Yeah the widowhood

Of every government

Signs for all to see

I can't run no more

With that lawless crowd

While the killers in high places

Say their prayers out loud

But they've summoned, they've summoned up

A thundercloud

And they're going to hear from me

Ring the bells…

© Sony/ATV Music Publishing LLC 1992


by Leonard Cohen

Leonard Cohen
Christopher Gubisch composing on his keyboard.
Amos Nachoum is holding his camera in the snow. Picture of His Life is a documentary film.

Performance Credits

piano, keyboards: Christopher Gubisch

acoustic, electric guitar: Scott Manthai

violin: Eduardo Sandival

Christopher Gubisch (BMI) is a composer from Los Angeles, California. He has written the music for three of Dani Menkin's films: 39 Pounds of Love, Picture of His Life, and Aulcie.

bottom of page